NFF announces Super Eagles squad: Joe Aribo, Etebo return to the team

The Super Eagles squad list ahead of the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying matches against Sierra Leone next month has been announced.

Three-time African champions Nigeria will take on Sierra Leone on matchday three in the AFCON qualifiers in Benin City on November 13, before facing the same opponents four days later.

FC Lugano goalkeeper Sebastian Osigwe is handed his first call up to the Super Eagles. the player’s international future would be locked by the Nigerian Federation if he plays in any of the matches next month.

Joe Aribo, Daniel Akpeyi and Oghenekaro Etebo have been recalled to the team after missing the friendly matches that took place in Austria this month.

Victor Osimhen has also returned to the squad after he was barred from reporting for international duty in October because the Napoli players were ordered into quarantine.

Premier league stars; Alex Iwobi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Semi Ajayi and Fulham’s Ola Aina have been selected as well as Watford’s William Troost-Ekong and Glasgow Rangers’ Leon Balogun.

Francis Uzoho, Samson Tijani, Ramon Azeez, Abdullahi Shehu, Kelechi Nwakali, Paul Onuachu and Ikechukwu Ezenwa have been placed on standby in the event of injuries to players named in the original list.

Here is the Full squad list:

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands); Sebastian Osigwe (FC Lugano, Switzerland).

Defenders: William Troost-Ekong (Watford, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Ola Aina (Fulham, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Kevin Akpoguma (Hoffenheim, Germany).

Midfielders: Joe Aribo (Rangers FC, Scotland); Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray, Turkey); Tyronne Ebuehi (Twente, The Netherlands), Frank Onyeka (FC Midtjylland, Denmark).

Strikers: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge, Belgium); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia).

  • harbimz
  • I am Iliyas Ahmed, a soccer enthusiast, a lover of the game. anti-sentimental analysts. I speak the truth... and nothing but the truth.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.