Enyeama Nominated For BBC African Player Of The Year

The British media outfit has announced candidates to win the prestigious individual trophy this year, with the Super Eagles captain the only Nigerian making the cut

Nigeria’s Vincent Enyeama has been shortlisted for the 2014 BBC African footballer of the year award, with title-holder Yaya Toure, Gabonese star Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Yacine Brahimi among the candidates to win the individual award.

The Lille shot stopper is the only goalkeeper nominated following his superb form for the Super Eagles at the Fifa World Cup Brazil and the French Ligue 1.

According to the organisers of the award, the winner will be decided by fans of African football, who have until 18:00 GMT on Monday, 24 November to vote for their choice.

The winner will be decided by African football fans and the winner will be announced on Monday, December 1 in a live radio broadcast.

Gervinho and Brahimi are the first time nominees in the list voted for by 44 journalists across Africa.

Austin Okocha is the only Nigerian to have won the award since inception having finished tops in 2003 and 2004.


Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria)
Pierre-Emerick (Gabon)
Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire)
Gervais Yao Kouassi (Cote d’Ivoire)
Yacine Brahimi (Algeria)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *